MAST’s COO comments on plans to seize migrant traffickers’ boats off Libya on BBC Radio 5

18th May 2015 – Gerry Northwood OBE, COO of leading maritime security company MAST, commented this morning on BBC Radio 5 on the security situation in Libya and the EU foreign and defence ministers' plans to seize boats of migrant traffickers before they go out to sea.

Northwood, a former Royal Navy Captain and Operation Atalanta (the EU's anti-piracy mission off the coast of Somalia) Head of Operations, said: 

We are not at war. Smugglers are criminals and a crime requires burden of proof. It will be difficult to distinguish between a fishing vessel and a potential smuggling boat. Therefore lethal force may well result in collateral damage and loss of life or livelihood.

A well co-ordinated humanitarian mission and blockade will impact on the smuggling organisations, but the solution is not on the water. This problem will only be resolved ashore.

He added:

The lesson of Op Atalanta is that a positive and coordinated effort between the UN, EU and all other involved nations is necessary to improve security and achieve economic stability. This should also include the Libyans.

 

For more information please contact:
Phil Cable: +44 1279 666094 | pcable@mast-security.com
Gerry Northwood: +44 7557 938 060 | +44 1279 669 402 | gerry.northwood@mast-security.com
David Barzilay: +44 7860 322 333 | +44 207 544 8980 | david@barzilay.co.uk
Julian Menendez: +44 7838 547 531 | +44 207 544 8831 | julian@barzilay.co.uk

About MAST – www.mast-security.com
MAST is a leading global security provider with the expertise and capability to provide comprehensive security advice, including the delivery of physical security solutions and technology.

With offices in the UK, USA, Malta, Oman, Sri Lanka, Nigeria, Singapore and China, the company has the resources and the reach to provide clients with a complete solution.

MAST – Making the High Seas safe for all.

Share this article

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

More articles from MAST...

Get in touch

Maritime Security
Email:Operations@mast-security.co.uk
24/7 Emergency Telephone:+44 (0) 1218 209 946

Main Office: +44 (0) 1279 216726

Risk Consulting
Email: Riskconsulting@mast-security.co.uk
Call: +44 (0) 1279 874 528

Security Systems
Email: Technology@mast-security.com
Call: +44 (0) 1279 874 521

Skip to content